Black and Gold Spotlight:Faye Corbett

What do you expect from the team as the 2009 season wraps up?
I expect our team to end this season on a good note.  We need to gain our confidence back and start winning some games. We are so talented and I know we can do great things with this team.

Describe your experience as a student-athlete at UNCP.
I’ve had a good experience as a student athlete so far.  It’s hard sometimes balancing academics with such a busy schedule, but at the end of the day, I know it’s worth it.

What is your most exciting soccer moment in your career?
My most exciting soccer moment was probably playing in the Gothia Cup, which is the world cup for youth club teams.  It was amazing to be able to play aganst teams from all over the world such as Brazil and Africa.  We lost in the final, but the long road there was so much fun and I will never forget all the memories it brought.

Talk a bit about what the team does before a big match.
Before a big game we usually don’t do anything special.  We have the same routine before every game.  The players might be extra nervous, but that’s about it.  We say our prayers, have our pre-game speech after warm-up, break it down and we’re ready to go.

Who or what is your biggest soccer inspiration?
My biggest soccer inspiration is my dad.  He is my best friend and my hero.  He was the one who got me into playing soccer and he was the one who made me push myself and never settle for less.  He would never miss a game and at every game he would stand at the sideline yelling his heart out that if I didn’t score I could walk home. Might sound harsh, but I scored every time. I have him to thank for my soccer skills.

What was the last movie you watched?
The last movie I watched was “Dark Country.”  It was a creepy movie, but it ended up scaring my boyfriend more than me.  I really don’t like scary movies though because they freak me out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Black and Gold Spotlight, Women's Soccer

Leave a comment