Black and Gold Spotlight:Jelena Shaw

Matt Smith sits down with UNCP softball player Jelena Shaw…

What are your expectations for the team as you start out the season?
We always aim big.  We want to dominate the conference and the region. To do that we know we must do the little things well. I expect us to continue what we’re doing and keeping each other motivated and working hard so that we can achieve these goals.

Describe your experience as a UNCP student-athlete.
It has been a wonderful experience.  It is a very tough job balancing schoolwork, practices and games, but I would not change it for anything. Other students acknowledge our lifestyles and come out to games to support and go around our schedules when we have study groups to help us with class work. I just feel like the student community works well together, and I enjoy being here as a student and athlete.

What is your most exciting softball moment?
My most exciting softball moment was defeating North Georgia my sophomore year to clinch the conference title for sure. That was a great year for us, but I want us to make it better this year.

Talk a bit about what goes on in the locker room before a game.
Coaches come in and gets us pumped up, letting us know that today is different day and that we have to focus on today’s work, not the day before or the next day. Sometimes she [Coach Melanson] may tell us about our opponent’s weapons so we prepare for them and shut them down. She says a quote that relates to us for the day, and we pray.

Who are your softball inspirations?
I watch the Olympic team, the pros and other colleges, but my best inspiration comes from my best friend, Sophia. We played high school ball together and she was an all-American at NCCU. She has had a verbal offer to play overseas and I am extremely proud of her, but I often tell her that my goal is to be better than her.

What do you do personally before a game?
I focus on the task at hand. I like to be sure to get my cuts in. This is the time to get in the zone.

What was the last movie you watched?
Law Abiding Citizen

Leave a comment

Filed under Black and Gold Spotlight, Softball

Leave a comment