Daily Archives: April 1, 2010

Black and Gold Spotlight: Karlos Jordan

Matt Smith sits down with UNCP track and field star Karlos Jordan…

What are your expectations of yourself and the team this season?
This is a new year and we have a lot of new and young people. I would like to see the team be able to come together and be able to communicate. I would also like to see us create a strong bond for one another, even though most of events are about oneself. And lastly, to see everyone out there having fun at meets and posting good times, maybe even some national qualifying times.  I hold myself at a high level and expect to do well. I’m my worst enemy when it comes to doing well, so one expectation is that I would like to control my emotions when I don’t do as [well as] I expected. Another goal is to be able to qualify for nationals in my single person events.

Describe your experience as a UNCP student athlete.
As a student athlete, I feel that we are held to most of the same standards as the rest of the population here at UNCP. But, I also feel that in some areas we are held at a higher level than most.  We are like role models to students, meaning that we are known around the public and [are] being watched by others.

What is your most exciting track and field moment?
I would have to say that my most exciting moment was back when I was a freshman. That was the first time my teammates [Maurice Eubanks, Sesh Parker and Mike Washington] and I made the provisional time for nationals in the 4×100 relay. Another great moment was when we and another teammate, Greg Byrd, went to the Penn Relays and got to run in front of more than 20,000 fans and over 100 schools from around the country.

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Men's Track and Field

Former Brave Prepares for National Stage

Former UNCP soccer player Miguel Ferrer (11) celebrates with his teammates after a 4-0 Senior Night win over Chowan on Oct. 29, 2008. Ferrer signed a professional contract March 9 with the Charlotte Eagles.

When former UNCP men’s soccer player Miguel Ferrer began his soccer career he, like most kids, had a dream of one day stepping out onto the national stage.

On March 9, Ferrer got his chance, as the Charlotte Eagles Soccer Club announced the signing of Ferrer to their roster for the 2010 season.

The Eagles, a member of the United Soccer League, is a professional soccer club located in Charlotte.  The club was the first professional team to give Ferrer a contract, allowing him to showcase his talent to the nation.

“Signing my first pro deal was exciting,” Ferrer said.  “It is something that almost every player wants to do.  It means a lot to me because I have the opportunity to continue my career as a soccer player.   It’s kind of an encouragement to realize that after all the years of training and sweat, something like this happens.  It’s a great opportunity for me to continue to grow as a player, but most importantly, as a man.”

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Men's Soccer