Daily Archives: April 15, 2010

Softball Wins Big at Peach Belt Awards Banquet

The UNCP softball team racked up a multitude of honors April 15, as senior Jelena Shaw took home the Peach Belt Conference Player of the Year award and freshman shortstop Holly Berry earned Conference Freshman of the Year honors.

The two also joined teammate Loren Bartz on the Peach Belt all-conference squad.

Shaw and Berry earned first team all-conference honors, while Bartz was rewarded with an at-large selection.

Shaw led the Black and Gold in almost every offensive category this season, leading UNCP with a .441 batting average.  Shaw racked up 64 total hits this season, leading the Braves with 10 home runs, 15 doubles and 54 runs scored.

“I am a pretty humble person, but I felt that I was truly deserving [of the award] from my own efforts this season,” Shaw said.  “My teammates and coaches believed in me and other coaches often complimented me….I felt that across the board, I did pretty well.

“But actually thinking about it, we had several girls to do well across the board. I feel that we had the best hitting team in the conference in my eyes, so I believe it was them who pushed me, Holly and Loren to do as well as we did. I know without them, I could not have been as successful as I was.”

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Softball