Black and Gold Spotlight: Shauna Walor

Matt Smith sits down with UNCP women’s golf star Shauna Walor…

What are your expectations of yourself and the team as the season closes?
My expectations for myself are to just go out on the course everyday and do the best I can. I just want to finish every round and know that I gave it my all that day and never gave up. It is so easy to just give up in golf because it is such a frustrating and mental game so to keeping it together when things aren’t going your way shows how strong you are as an athlete.  As for the team, I hope we can make it to Regionals.  There are a couple seniors on the team and I know that is their biggest goal, especially saying it is their last year. I also would like us to beat Newberry. They are one of the best teams we play, and I know we have the talent on our team to beat them. Beating Newberry is our goal going into every tournament.

Describe your experience as a UNCP student athlete.
Being a UNCP student athlete is the best experience I have ever had. It is so much fun going out to tournaments and seeing all the great competition out there. It really gets you motivated to practice as hard as you can every single day. It’s great being part of a team that you see as your family and knowing that they are there for you no matter what. On the other hand, it’s difficult being a student and an athlete. It is very challenging at times, but you learn how to handle both. You really need to have good time management.

What is your most exciting golf moment?
My most exciting golf moment had to be when I shot 73 on my second day of the tournament in Myrtle Beach during the fall season. It was the best performance I had ever had in a tournament round, and it was so exciting because my parents and grandparents were there watching. It made me realize that I can really compete with all these girls, and it gave me a big boost of confidence.

Who/what are your biggest golf inspirations?
My biggest golf inspiration is my brother, and Pembroke golfer, Jordan Walor. I’m not trying to sound corny or anything, but I just want to be half as good of a player that my brother is. He is just so spot on with all of his shots, and it is so fun watching him play. He never gives up and sees every hole as a birdie hole and never passes up any opportunity he has on the course.

What do you do personally before a match?
I do not necessarily do anything interesting before I play. I almost always go to the putting green before heading to the driving range, but that is about it. I do not listen to any music because I just want to focus on the course. Plus, all I have on my play list is country music, and I don’t know if country music can really pump you up.

Leave a comment

Filed under Black and Gold Spotlight, Women's Golf

Leave a comment